County · Iowa
Polk County, Iowa: drinking water records
Explore EPA records for 38 community water systems across 33 ZIP codes in Polk County, then find water-testing resources and available recent monitoring-station readings.
Data as of EPA UCMR 5 final release, August 2026 (file dated Aug 28, 2026) · EPA SDWIS 2026Q2 (file dated Jul 9, 2026). How we build these pages
Drinking-water records
EPA survey and compliance records are historical reports. UCMR 5 results are available for 11 of the 38 listed systems in this snapshot. A system with no reported PFAS detection is not a test of every tap or every contaminant.
System population figures are summed from EPA registry records and can overlap where wholesalers and retail systems serve the same people. They are not a Census county-population estimate.
Water systems in this county
All 38 active community systems in the available county records, sorted by record completeness. Scroll the table to explore more systems.
| Water system | People served | PFAS survey results | PFAS found | Health-based violations | Lead, 9 in 10 homes at or below |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Des Moines Water Works IA7727031 | 246,055 | 360 | 0 | 1 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Altoona Water Supply IA7707030 | 19,565 | 180 | 0 | 1 | 5.6 ppbbelow the action level |
| Ankeny, City of IA7709053 | 76,207 | 240 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| West Des Moines Water Works IA7785007 | 73,959 | 180 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Urbandale Water Utility IA7780042 | 45,605 | 120 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Johnston Municipal Water Supply IA7740011 | 24,897 | 240 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Clive Water Department IA7720051 | 20,277 | 120 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Grimes Water Supply IA7736011 | 17,809 | 60 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Bondurant Muni Water Supply IA7717032 | 9,393 | 120 | 1 | 0 | 1.3 ppbbelow the action level |
| Southeast Polk Rwd IA7774701 | 7,565 | 120 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Polk City Water Supply IA7770050 | 6,533 | 120 | 0 | 0 | 1.3 ppbbelow the action level |
| Mitchellville Water Supply IA7751092 | 2,515 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Park View Village IA7736301 | 1,800 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Camp Dodge Water Supply IA7700901 | 1,169 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 ppbbelow the action level |
| Autumn Ridge Estates MHP IA7709601 | 1,032 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Elkhart Water Supply IA7730012 | 882 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.6 ppbbelow the action level |
| Yes Regency Manor LLC IA7727602 | 710 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| The Meadows IA7727609 | 702 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Yes Western Village LLC IA7785601 | 670 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Southridge Estate IA7727603 | 648 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Val Vista Estates IA7727607 | 553 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Ewing Trace MHC IA7727604 | 455 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Southwest Polk Water Service, INC. IA7700802 | 393 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 ppbbelow the action level |
| Stover Heights MHC IA7727605 | 393 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 ppbbelow the action level |
| Hickory Hollow Water Service, INC. IA7709396 | 375 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Sunnybrook Mobile Home Park IA7700601 | 360 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Pleasant Valley Le LLC IA7767601 | 350 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Greenwood Acres Water Co. IA7709395 | 325 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 ppbbelow the action level |
| Sheldahl Water Supply IA7778039 | 307 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 ppbbelow the action level |
| Hillock Estates IA7727608 | 228 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Oakwood Park Water INC. IA7709398 | 218 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Grimes MHP MHC IA7736601 | 163 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Rocklyn MHP IA7780601 | 103 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppbbelow the action level |
| Southland MHP Community IA7727610 | 135 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
| Ciww ( Polk City) IA7770052 | 25 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
| Ciww (Dmww) IA7727033 | 25 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
| Ciww (Grimes) IA7736015 | 25 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
| Ciww (Wdmww) IA7785009 | 25 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
USGS · Monitoring stations
The water, more recently.
Available station readings in Polk County, Iowa. Each measurement keeps its time, unit and original source.
These readings describe water at a monitoring station. They do not test your tap, measure PFAS or lead, or determine whether water is safe to drink or swim in.
Recent observations load when this section comes into view.
How these readings update
We check for updates every 10 minutes while this section is visible and show supported observations from the last 48 hours. The time beside a reading is when USGS measured it; the checked time is when our service retrieved the response. We mark a reading more than 6 hours old as older. Provisional observations can change after USGS review. A missing reading does not mean zero or clean water.
Temperature, pH, dissolved oxygen, turbidity, conductivity, streamflow and water level are shown only where a station reports them. Different measurements have different units and sampling intervals. USGS data and documentation.
Your next step
Water testing, reports & local help.
Use these official directories to find your drinking-water agency, a certified laboratory and public water records. We have not yet added an individually reviewed local resource list for this county.
Official national directories
Water testing
Find your state’s private-well program
EPA’s state directory points well owners to local program information. Services and eligibility vary by state and county.
Water testing
Find a certified drinking-water laboratory
Use EPA’s directory to reach your state’s laboratory certification program. EPA does not provide on-request testing of residential drinking water.
Public records
Find your utility’s Consumer Confidence Report
EPA links to community water-system reports and explains how to read them. Look for your actual supplier rather than assuming every address in a county shares one system.
Public records
Explore USGS water observations
Find current and historical observations from USGS monitoring locations, including available stream, lake, and groundwater data. Measurements vary by station and do not replace a test of your household water.
A county overview cannot identify every property’s water provider. If you use a public water system, confirm its name on your bill and request its annual Consumer Confidence Report. Private wells need their own testing; public-system records do not describe a private well.
Understand water testing and laboratory reportsResource descriptions are compiled by Tap Water Lookup. Review dates describe our source check, not a new water sample. How we review sources · Suggest a correction
Explore your area
Local coverage in Polk County
33ZIP areas in this overview
Explore the water-system records, recent station readings and testing resources on this county page. They describe the systems and stations identified in each section; they are not a separate water test for every community.
Towns and communities
- Alleman
- Altoona
- Ankeny
- Bondurant
- Clive
- Des Moines
- Elkhart
- Granger
- Grimes
- Johnston
- Maxwell
- Mitchellville
- Pleasant Hill
- Polk City
- Runnells
- Sheldahl
- Slater
- Urbandale
- West Des Moines
- Windsor Heights
View ZIP areas and understand coverage
- 50007Alleman
- 50009Altoona
- 50021Ankeny
- 50023Ankeny
- 50032
- 50035Bondurant
- 50073Elkhart
- 50109Granger
- 50111Grimes
- 50131Johnston
- 50161Maxwell
- 50169Mitchellville
- 50226Polk City
- 50237Runnells
- 50243Sheldahl
- 50244Slater
- 50265West Des Moines
- 50309Des Moines
- 50310Des Moines
- 50311Des Moines
- 50312Des Moines
- 50313Des Moines
- 50314Des Moines
- 50315Des Moines
- 50316Des Moines
- 50317Des Moines
- 50319Des Moines
- 50320Des Moines
- 50321Des Moines
- 50322Urbandale
- 50324Windsor Heights
- 50325Clive
- 50327Pleasant Hill
These Census ZIP Code Tabulation Areas are grouped here by their largest county overlap. A ZIP area can cross county lines and contain several water suppliers or private wells. Place labels reflect Census geography, not verified postal city names or utility service boundaries.
Records for these areas are currently presented in this county overview rather than individual ZIP reports. An unpublished report does not mean there are no water records. Confirm your supplier on your water bill; if you use a private well, testing your own well is the relevant next step.
Sources and scope
EPA UCMR 5 occurrence data, samples collected 2023-01-03 – 2026-06-17, final release, August 2026 (file dated Aug 28, 2026); EPA SDWIS via ECHO, 2026Q2 extract (file dated Jul 9, 2026); EPA service-area boundaries v3.0; Census 2020 ZCTAs. Database prepared 2026-09-03.
Counts cover the systems that report this county to EPA. A water system may cross county lines. "Found" means at least one result at or above the laboratory reporting level; it is not a compliance finding.
Compiled by Tap Water Lookup from the sources identified on this page. Read the methodology and review process.
