County · Illinois
Jackson County, Illinois: drinking water records
This overview covers 15 ZIP codes and 21 community water systems in Jackson County. It also stands in for 2 ZIP codes whose utility has too little EPA data for a page of its own.
System population figures are summed from EPA registry records and can overlap where wholesalers and retail systems serve the same people. They are not a Census county-population estimate.
Water systems with the most complete records
| Water system | People served | PFAS survey results | PFAS found | Health-based violations | Lead, 9 in 10 homes at or below |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carbondale IL0770150 | 22,107 | 120 | 0 | 4 | 9.5 ppb |
| Murphysboro IL0770500 | 10,241 | 95 | 1 | 1 | 0 ppb |
| South Highway Pwd IL0775400 | 4,972 | 120 | 0 | 4 | 1.4 ppb |
| Murdale Pwd IL0775200 | 4,963 | 120 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Lakeside Pwd IL0775150 | 3,065 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 ppb |
| Elkville IL0770300 | 1,068 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 ppb |
| Buncombe Water District IL0775420 | 1,030 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 ppb |
| Crab Orchard Estates IL0775160 | 238 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 ppb |
| De Soto IL0770200 | 1,910 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.4 ppb |
| Dowell IL0770250 | 1,188 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Gorham IL0770350 | 1,143 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Oraville Water District IL0775250 | 1,108 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 ppb |
| Ava IL0770050 | 1,053 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Elverado Water District IL0770010 | 763 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.8 ppb |
| Vergennes IL0770550 | 648 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Grand Tower IL0770400 | 559 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Campbell Hill IL0770100 | 414 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Riverview Estates PA3390018 | 375 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 25 ppb |
| Sugarloaf Mobile Home Park MI0040256 | 142 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.9 ppb |
| Murphysboro Lsrc IL0770540 | 167 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
| Kinkaid Area Water System IL0775100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
ZIP reports in Jackson County
No ZIP report in this county is published yet.
These ZIP codes are covered by this overview because their utility has too little EPA data for a separate page: 62280, 62950.
Sources and scope
EPA UCMR 5 occurrence data, samples collected 2023-01-03 – 2026-06-17, final release, August 2026 (file dated Aug 28, 2026); EPA SDWIS via ECHO, 2026Q2 extract (file dated Jul 9, 2026); EPA service-area boundaries v3.0; Census 2020 ZCTAs. Page generated 2026-09-03.
Counts cover the systems that report this county to EPA. A water system may cross county lines. "Found" means at least one result at or above the laboratory reporting level; it is not a compliance finding.
