County · Maryland
Washington County, Maryland: drinking water records
This overview covers 19 ZIP codes and 18 community water systems in Washington County. It also stands in for 5 ZIP codes whose utility has too little EPA data for a page of its own.
System population figures are summed from EPA registry records and can overlap where wholesalers and retail systems serve the same people. They are not a Census county-population estimate.
Water systems with the most complete records
| Water system | People served | PFAS survey results | PFAS found | Health-based violations | Lead, 9 in 10 homes at or below |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Hagerstown MD0210010 | 92,200 | 120 | 0 | 0 | 0.8 ppb |
| Boonsboro - Keedysville MD0210002 | 4,250 | 300 | 5 | 0 | 3.3 ppb |
| Town of Hancock MD0210012 | 1,921 | 60 | 0 | 0 | 2.4 ppb |
| Town of Clear Spring MD0210005 | 455 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 ppb |
| Fahrney-Keedy Senior Living Community MD0210213 | 250 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 ppb |
| Saint James School MD0210209 | 200 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1.1 ppb |
| Brook Lane Health Services MD0210004 | 175 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2.2 ppb |
| Town of Smithsburg Distribution System MD0210018 | 2,500 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 16 ppb |
| Town of Sharpsburg MD0210017 | 1,360 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Highfield MD0210001 | 1,141 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.9 ppb |
| Mount Aetna MD0210015 | 688 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Sandy Hook MD0210019 | 220 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 ppb |
| Elk Ridge Lake MD0210006 | 120 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.7 ppb |
| Woodland Trailer Park MD0210205 | 65 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.1 ppb |
| Cedar Ridge Children'S Home & School MD0210020 | 45 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.8 ppb |
| Town of Williamsport Distribution System MD0210021 | 2,400 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
| Lakeside Village MD0210215 | 1,575 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
| Town of Funkstown Distribution System MD0210008 | 1,300 | 0 | 0 | 0 | not reported |
ZIP reports in Washington County
No ZIP report in this county is published yet.
These ZIP codes are covered by this overview because their utility has too little EPA data for a separate page: 21711, 21715, 21733, 21734, 21779.
Sources and scope
EPA UCMR 5 occurrence data, samples collected 2023-01-03 – 2026-06-17, final release, August 2026 (file dated Aug 28, 2026); EPA SDWIS via ECHO, 2026Q2 extract (file dated Jul 9, 2026); EPA service-area boundaries v3.0; Census 2020 ZCTAs. Page generated 2026-09-03.
Counts cover the systems that report this county to EPA. A water system may cross county lines. "Found" means at least one result at or above the laboratory reporting level; it is not a compliance finding.
